Is it really *that* weird?

31 May

Quite a few people seem to find it wrong that I live in a bubble.
I am lucky enough that I don’t really have to have contact with anyone I don’t want to. Shouldn’t we all?

I don’t watch TV. I watch TV shows online when I feel like watching things. I couldn’t tell you what is on TV nowdays.
I don’t watch the paper, watch the news, read the news online.. (but I love how Sydney Morning Herald abbreviates to SMH)
I don’t listen to the radio. I couldn’t tell you 5 new songs, actually even one…
I don’t know who many present day celebrities are, but I can tell you that my friend Hannah is really hot and loves Trueblood, knitting and our Frisky Friday’s on twitter. I know how my friends are going, I know how to make cupcakes, and I know how to keep my babies happy.

Why is it so strange that I don’t know much about the world that really doesn’t affect me? Don’t get me wrong, I do care about people. I do help people. I am a counsellor and do plenty of volunteer work. But I mean the other guff, why do people think it is strange?

I am so fortunate that I get to choose everything in my life. It is a truly wonderful thing. I let the people I want in my life, the people I don’t want in it are not. Same goes for media, and everything else. Shouldn’t it be that simple?

2 Responses to “Is it really *that* weird?”

  1. Sooze May 31, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    I don’t read the paper, not even online. I don’t watch the news.
    I hear the radio news if I happen to be in the car at the right time, the ABC only. I hate commercial radio so I have no idea about ‘new music’ either.
    I don’t read magazines unless at the hairdressers or the doctors, so every 4-5 months maybe?
    I’m pretty happy in my bubble. I still get more than enough info and don’t miss much.
    Nice to have your company here! 😉
    x

  2. Erin July 2, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    No, I think this sounds pretty healthy. We should all be so fortunate.

Leave a Reply

