New New New Normal

1 May

Trying to find your new normal is something that everyone encounters a few times in their life. For a lot of us in Christchurch we seem to have a refresher course in it every few months.

At the moment I am on a bit of mission to re-establish myself. I have had relationships with people end, new ones form, others strengthen. I am in the process of taking over a business thanks to a beautiful friend of mine. I am also making more of an effort to do more shoots and meet more people.

I decided my new normal will consist of more fun and more happiness.  Mike has had a lot of insights for me too, now that we can talk without getting into a huge fight (yay!). One of the big ones is that he says I have a tendency to jump into things whole heartedly head first. Stepping back I have realised that there’s a few aspects of my life where that isn’t the best thing for me to do, because it can leave me hurt, and if I hadn’t have gotten too involved I wouldn’t be hurting unnecessarily. I have a few issues from past relationships which leave me a bit high strung when I can see the same thing happening again. Tolerance levels have reached an all time low! Therefore my new normal will include me protecting myself more. I will also learn more about my strengths and weaknesses and figure out what to do with them.

That’s the bigger picture stuff. Apart from that I have to find a new place and crap for said place, new preschool, new routine for the kids, basically start over alone.

I’m lucky to have the people around me that I do because without them I am pretty certain I would have a nervous breakdown. Thank you badass friends, thank you people who try to hold twitter interventions because I have been being a bit “unusual” (haha!) thank you to everyone who gives a damn.

One Response to “New New New Normal”

  1. Ness May 1, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    I cannot even begin to comprehend what you are going through in Christchurch. However, I can imagine the earthquakes have been massive and life-changing.

    Good for you being on a mission to “re-establish” yourself. Sometimes huge change is the one good thing that comes from such enormous upheaval and pain.

    Being able to talk with your partner (without fighting) is really fantastic; I can completely relate. Sometimes they actually provide us with insights about ourselves and our actions that we either weren’t aware of or just simply refused to accept.

    I am like you in the fact that I jump into things whole heartedly and I have often ended being hurt. The one thing I can say to you is that learning that now in your early 20’s is way better than learning it in your early-mid 30’s.

    Good luck for your journey. : )

Leave a Reply

