Bitchin’ in the Kitchen

1 Sep

I’ve decided to do a series of blog posts about food, because to be fair, food is the love of my life.
I love making food, giving it to friends and making it do stupid things. For example, baking gingerbread versions of myself and Amie and making them do stuff, then sending her photos of them.

Anyway… one of my favourite things to make is cupcakes. This mostly comes down to them looking cool when they’re iced. The children only eat icing and only like chewy cookies, which you can’t really smother in buttercream icing. Pity. All my baking is gluten free, because Brooklyn can’t have gluten. I’ve got to the point with my GF baking you can’t tell the difference between a GF and non GF version of it, which is handy when you have guests who think that GF food is for crazy hippies and must taste like dirt.

Here are a few recent additions to the Bexie cupcake family:

These are vanilla and dark chocolate with chunks of vegan marshmallow through them and marshmallow buttercream.

These ones are vanilla with Whittakers  62% dark chocolate buttercream icing.

These puppies are lemon/vanilla with duotone icing.

Now these were from a while ago obviously, my first attempt at making shiz with fondant.

As you can tell I am a bit of a buttercream fan, however I actually prefer buttercream made with kremelta, which is coconut shortening. It usually goes a bit harder on the outside than buttercream does, but it holds the flavour and colour that you make your icing much better. It doesn’t taste so sickly either.  Quantity wise,you just use it as a direct replacement for the butter, so same as you would add to a normal mixture.

The next instalment will be pies, tweet me here to tell me if you’d prefer a sweet or savoury pie recipe.

2 Responses to “Bitchin’ in the Kitchen”

  1. Kelly Ford September 1, 2011 at 6:52 am #

    Yummmm!! I like the look and sound of the vanilla and dark chocolate cupcakes! Can you share the recipe please? xx

    • Bex September 1, 2011 at 7:40 am #

      Of course, I’ll pop a post up with the recipe :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

